Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee


The Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee will oversee an update to the Town's Comprehensive Plan. The Committee will:

Decide whether to create a new Plan, revise the existing Plan, or create an addendum to the existing Plan

Decide whether to assess progress that has been achieved (or not achieved} under the existing Plan, and how to publicly document that assessment

Decide which legally required topics should be revised or amended in an updated Plan, and how those updates will be accomplished

Develop a public participation plan, which should include accessible in-person and/or remote discussions, surveys, and other forms of engagement, education, and information gathering

Structure, recruit for, and populate work groups, or decide upon other ways to research and draft recommendations for components in the updated Plan

Decide how to engage outside expertise and perspectives during the process, as time and resources allow

Report to the Town Board and Town Plan Commission on each of the decisions listed above

Keep minutes of meetings; send these minutes in a timely manner to the Town Board and Town Plan Commission

Oversee writing the final draft of an updated Plan, then submit the update to the Town Plan Commission, which ultimately makes a recommendation to the Town Board

Current Comprehensive Plan Committee Members

Alexander Nelson (Chair)

Alex is a grower, builder, and year-round resident on the island. He is also an EMT and cares greatly for ensuring the community on the island has their voice heard in this plan, and looks forward to hearing all voices of this special community.

Daniel Bartholomay (Vice Chair)

Dan has been connected to the island for over 40 years and bought a cabin near Big Bay in 2018.  He retired last year from a 35+ year career leading community development efforts at the grassroots, state, and national levels for public and non-profit organizations. Dan brings experience in community planning, housing, economic, and organizational development, and cross-sector collaboration to the work of the committee. 

Michael Collins

After a bi-coastal career in advertising, association management and public policy, Michael returned to make Madeline his primary home. He’s been secretary/treasurer for the Woods Hall board of directors, co-chair of the GLIA host committee, and chair of the Town Chapel committee. Today, he chairs the Chamber of Commerce and is a member of the St. John’s Church Council.

Sally North

Sally owns Island Shores Group, eXp Realty LLC on Main St. She is from Madison, where she was a Realtor for many years prior to moving up here in 2014. Sally is married and has two grown daughters and two grown stepsons. 

Charles Brummer

Has spent his entire life as a year-round Island resident. Served a total of 14 years on the Town Planning Commission. Is an Island business owner. Appreciates the quiet beauty and safe atmosphere the Island offers.

Sarah Caruso

Sarah has been a summer resident on Madeline Island since her birth in 1959! After a career in business and nonprofit leadership based in Minneapolis, Sarah and her husband (Dick Hurrelbrink) are spending 4 to 5 months a year on the island in retirement.  Sarah has been President of Minnesota Children's Museum and CEO of Greater Twin Cities United Way – so all things children and family related are especially important to her volunteer leadership.

Jane Vogt

Jane was a C-suite and senior marketing and sales executive with IBM and GE. Today, Jane centers her expertise in strategic planning, marketing, sales, operations, and business process re-engineering on local community needs and opportunities.

Jane is vice-chair for Northland College’s Board of Trustees and chairs the college’s Audit and Risk Management Committee. She is also on the Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation and chair of the Apostles Island Chequamegon Bay Area Community Fund. Jane previously sat on the Woods Hall Gallery and Studios Board and remains involved with the affordable housing committee for the Town of LaPointe.